gw
Hope everyone enjoyed themselves like I did, hard going at times but think the whole concept really worked. Looks like I worked everyone here including Iain 9G5X and Bob 8P9IF at least twice. 9G5X was consistently a good signal and once on 15m was banging through on an otherwise dead band – great effort Iain. Pity I didn’t concentrate my efforts in the week to putting up a proper antenna for 15m rather than a dipole for 10m which was never used. At times like this I dream of having some nice directional gain antennas although in a contest like this I’d have to worry about where to point them.
Low points for me were the deadly quiet time from say 0100-0500 and the pile ups of Gs on 40m on Saturday when they were all on the noise and pretty much esp on my 1/4 wave vertical; first time I’ve ever used the Audio Peaking gizmo on my K3 in such anger. I really needed a dipole for high angle Gs – the dx that called was much easier. High point was grey line on 80m coming alive to ZL this morning, had to remind myself I was using a dipole at 45 feet. I’ve attached the N1MM summary if any interest….
I worked 10 dupes in total (not in the summary) and am convinced some had copied me as one of the other 80CC stations originally, probably GM80CC? Have to say the call produced more problems than my GW4J but suspect many hadn’t ‘read the news’ beforehand although I presume the calls were in the new Beru scp file (if they were using it…;-)
73,
Stewart
RSGBBERU Summary Sheet

       Start Date : 2017-03-04

    CallSign Used : GW80CC
      Operator(s) : GW0ETF

Operator Category : SINGLE-OP-ASSISTED
             Band : ALL
            Power : HIGH
             Mode : CW
Overlay Category : HQ
 Default Exchange : # HQ
       Gridsquare : IO73WF

             Name : Stewart Rolfe
          Address : Ty'n Lon
                   Minffordd
   City/State/Zip : Bangor    LL57 4DR
          Country : UNITED KINGDOM

     ARRL Section : DX
        Club/Team :  
         Software : N1MM Logger+ 1.0.6071.0

        Band     QSOs     Pts  Cty  Sec  Pt/Q
         3.5     154    1490   31    5   9.7
           7     134    1825   48    8  13.6
          14     124    1680   51    8  13.5
          21      13     305   13    0  23.5
       Total     425    5300  143   21  12.5


            Score : 5,300
